Schlossmuseum Loosdorf

Castle, Church, Museum

Description

Loosdorf castle was first mentioned in 1416 as "Feste Lostorff". The castle was "modernised" in classicistic style and brought to the present form by prince Johann von Liechtenstein.

Since 1834 the house is owned by the Piatti familiy.

The castlemuseum Loosdorf is a small, precious museum of a very special kind. Here destruction and beauty reach out for reconcilitation.

The museum is structured as a line of unique installations of space. The remodelling of the rooms happened in a way that the grown structures and historical references are in harmony with the necessary changes.

Library with view over the classicistic park.

Classicistic splendour rooms with furniture and rare wallpaintings. Room with fragments of a huge porcelain collection.

Facility features

  • Tours
  • Dogs allowed
  • Suitable for bad weather

Location and how to get there